Texas legislators are filing bills that would provide debtors with additional protections against foreclosure. SB 472 would increase the mandatory cure period before a lender could post to foreclose on a residence from 20 to 45 days. It would also require foreclosure notices to be accompanied by a new canary yellow sheet of consumer protection tips, including options available to the debtor to prevent foreclosure. SB 439 would increase the time period between posting and foreclosure sale from a minimum of 21 days to a minimum of 60 days. Check the progress of SB 439 and SB 472 and other pending legislation at the Texas Legislature’s website.